How to Repartition a Drive

To access the repartition tool, follow the steps below:

  • Launch Drive Genius 5.

  • Select the drive you want to use Repartition on from the Drive List on the left-hand side of the window.

  • Select Repartition from the Clean Up section.

To resize an existing partition, follow the steps below:

  • Select an existing partition from the Partition List at the left of the Repartition screen, and then click Resize underneath the visual representation of the drive.

  • You can type in the desired size, or use the slider at the bottom of the window to adjust the size.

  • Click the Start button to proceed.

  • You will be prompted with a “Repartition Data Loss Warning”. This is a standard warning to ensure you have a backup before proceeding.

To add a new partition, follow the steps below:

  • Select free space in the Partition list that you wish to create a partition from, and then click Add underneath the visual representation of the drive.

  • You can select the file format, set the desired partition size, and name the partition at the bottom of the window.

  • Click the start button to proceed.

  • You will be prompted with a “Repartition Data Loss Warning”. This is a standard warning to ensure you have a backup before proceeding.

To move an existing partition, follow the steps below:

  • Select the partition you want to move in the Partition list, and then click Move underneath the visual representation of the drive.

  • The Repartition tool will automatically select a new location chosen for maximum compaction.

  • Click the start button to proceed.

  • You will be prompted with a “Repartition Data Loss Warning”. This is a standard warning to ensure you have a backup before proceeding.

To delete an existing partition, follow the steps below:

  • Select an existing from the Partition List at the left of the Repartition screen, and then click Delete underneath the visual representation of the drive.

  • A warning will be displayed on the bottom of the window. This is a reminder to back up any needed data from the partition that will be deleted.

  • Click the Start button to proceed.

  • You will be prompted with ”Warning – The operation you are about to perform will destroy all data”. This is a standard warning to ensure you have a backup of needed files before deleting the partition.

How to hide a partition:

  • Select an existing from the Partition List at the left of the Repartition screen, and then click the Cog-Wheel icon below the visual representation of the drive.

  • Select hide from the drop-down list.

How to reset a partition map:

  • Select an existing from the Partition List at the left of the Repartition screen, and then click the Cog-Wheel icon below the visual representation of the drive.

  • Select reset from the drop-down list.