Data Backup Pro Guides
Data Backup is one of the most customizable Mac backup programs on the market. With several different backup options available, it can be difficult to know which one is right for you. So we broke it down to make it easy to understand and pick the best backup for your mac.
Making a clone of your drive is creating an identical bootable image of your hard drive. This kind of back up comes in handy because, with a clone of your current drive, in the event where your drive becomes unreadable or fails, you can boot from the clone that you have created. The drive has to be partitioned with the right partition map (e.g. GUID/APM). Making a clone of your drive can turn out to be an absolute lifesaver!
A versioned backup is very similar to the simple copy except the old and deleted versions of the backup will be stored inside a hidden area with your destination. All of your files in the source will be copied to the destination. When future backups are run, old versions of the files are then stored in hidden locations on within the destination. Similar to Time Machine, files from any backup date can be selected and restored.
A simple copy is a basic backup of your drive that includes some hidden information that can help Data Backup manage additional backup processes in the future. The key feature that makes simple copy the fastest is that only the changed files will be copied and files no longer present in the source will be deleted in the destination. When scheduled this is a incremental backup also.
A Synchronize backup method merges the contents of two drives or folders and places the complete set of data into bot the source and destination. If a file is deleted or added in either the source or destination, the file will be deleted or added from the other.
A incremental backup is used with the Full Backup to make a copy of the files, which have been changed and created since the last Full or Incremental backup to additional folders called “incremental-date”.
A full backup will make a complete copy all of the files and folders present in the source. When it is completed, the destination will contain additional folder names “Full-Date” which will contain all of the files and folders that were selected to copy.